I Made The List And It Makes Me Proud

Nominees for the 2009 New Media awards have been announced and this liitle blog which I’m proud of has been nominated along with three others in the category of “Unsung Hero Award”, an award given out to the blog which shows consistent quality without getting a lot of recognition. 

Nominees Announced for HockeyBarn.com Writers’ Association “Hockey New Media Awards”
17 writers selected in 5 Categories; Awards to be presented June 17 by Hockey Hall of Fame member Glenn Anderson
Press Contacts:
Editor, HockeyBarn.com
Tel: (212) 380-1156
New York, NY – June 10, 2009 – The HockeyBarn.com Writers’ Association (HBWA) announces the final nominees for the 2009 Hockey New Media Awards. Nominees were selected based upon their outstanding levels of commitment, quality, and service to new media in hockey. Nominations from peers, readers, and fans were carefully considered in the selection process. The award winners will be presented by Hall of Famer Glenn Anderson from Las Vegas, Nevada on June 17. Each winner will receive a gift package presented by Zamboni®. The Writer of the Year will receive a ticket to attend the 2009 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony with Glenn Anderson on November 9, 2009.

Rookie Writer of the Year:

Alan Bass – (http://bleacherreport.com/users/13288-Alan-Bass): Ranked #1 in the NHL section of the Bleacher Report, Alan Bass is a very simple person: he loves to write, and he loves hockey more than anything in the world. Alan attends Muhlenberg College in Allentown, PA, where he assists the collegiate club hockey team.

Mike Gifford – (http://puckreport.blogspot.com): Mike Gifford’s online hockey commentary brings together an effective mix of topical NHL issues, business and media insights, and historical anecdotes. Mike’s style of writing is investigatory with a powerful punch of sharp wit.

Don Rivette – (http://www.litterboxcats.com): Donny Rivette’s writing is funny, insightful, and well-researched. Through his relentless scouting of hockey coverage, Donny has established himself as a hockey insider in South Florida and is a galvanizer of support for the Florida Panthers.

Hockey Mom/Dad Writer of the Year:

Liz Goddard – (http://www.hockeymoms.com): Liz Goddard defines hockey moms as “women who dream or dreamed of their children being able to play hockey in the land they long for.” As the Executive Director of Hockeymoms.com, Liz has created a valuable online resource for Hockey moms across North America.

Dani Muccio – (@dani3boyz): Dani Muccio is a pioneer of one of the National Hockey League’s most successful movements in ’08-’09: the “Hockey Tweetup”. As the name of her Twitter ID indicates, Dani has her hands full both on and off the internet.

Leslie Silvey – (http://hockeymomva.blogspot.com): As if a full-time job in marketing/communications and managing the travel hockey schedules of twin 13-year old boys weren’t enough, Leslie Silvey started
her blog, Musings of a Hockey Mom, at the end of the 2008 season. A self-proclaimed “Hockey Momva,” Leslie manages to write for several hockey sites including HockeyBarn.com and her own.

Unsung Hero Award:

Chris Botta – (http://www.islanderspointblank.com/): The former VP of Media Relations of the New York Islanders, Chris Botta has successfully carved his own niche as managing editor of NYI Point Blank. Chris offers inside scoop with honest perspective and the ability to back up his commentary.

Dennis Kane – (http://dennis-kane.com/): Dennis Kane’s Montreal Canadiens’ website is “rated by [his] wife as the best site in the world.” Many others feel similarly. Dennis is the godfather of new media for the Bleu, Blanc, et Rouge.

Tripp Mickle – (@trippmickle): Tripp Mickle is Mr. Hockey at the Sports Business Journal, the authority on all things sports business. Mickle’s feature articles, published in print and online the Journal’s website, are followed by hockey fans and executives across America.

Joe Pelletier – (http://www.greatesthockeylegends.com/): From book reviews to historical documentaries, Joe Pelletier does it all and has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the game. His account of the 1972 Summit Series does justice to those games.

Glenn Anderson Leadership Award:

Darryl Dobbs – (http://www.dobberhockey.com): When hockey fans think Fantasy Hockey, they think Darryl Dobbs. In addition to providing coverage to multiple publications including HockeyBarn.com and TheHockeyNews.com, Darryl Dobbs does it all on his own website and manages a quality pool of affiliate hockey writers.

Justin Goldman – (http://thehockeyguild.com): Through his multiple hockey domains, Justin Goldman is an ambassador for the sport of hockey both locally in Colorado and across the continent. Justin’s hockey writing on his website www.thegoalieguild.com comes from a goaltender’s perspective and is layered with insightful analysis. Justin’s sites often promote his hockey events, which have successfully raised thousands of dollars for charities across America.

John Press – (http://www.japersrink.com/): John Press, creator of Japer’s Rink has emerged as a leader of the rabid Washington Capitals online fan-base. His hockey statistical analysis is some of the best on the internet.

Writer of the Year:

Adam Brady – (http://ducks.nhl.com/team/app/?service=page&page=NHLPage&id=12887): Adam Brady is the Director of Publications and New Media for the Anaheim Ducks and Honda Center. Adam’s blogs and game logs ignite the passionate Ducks’ following and provide constant coverage of the team and of the NHL.

Mike Halford & Jason Brough – (http://www.kurtenblog.com): Named after Orland Kurtenbach, the first captain of the Vancouver Canucks, the Orland Kurten”blog” has become one of Western Canada’s top destination sites for hockey commentary and editorial. Mike Halford & Jason Brough lead the new media revolution through their hilarious and insightful sports commentary.

Greg Wyshynski – (http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/blog/puck_daddy): Greg Wyshynski, more commonly known by his online alias “Puck Daddy,” has emerged as a central persona in hockey new media. Wyshynski’s following is massive, and for good reason. His writing is thoughtful, funny, and intellectual, yet down-to-earth.

7 thoughts on “I Made The List And It Makes Me Proud”

  1. Very good Dennis, hope you win! Thanks for the trophy back, better luck next year! And GO DETROIT!!

  2. Congratulations on well deserved recognition of consistent quality.
    But are there really people out there not singing your hero-ness?

  3. Thanks a lot. And when I become owner of the Habs, you guys can sit in my private box and be served beer and lobster by Yvon Cournoyer and the McGill female cheerleading squad.

  4. I’m too busy working for such fun to happen. Anyway, I’m planning on going to a game in Montreal in the fall. Never been to the Bell Centre. I moved from Ottawa before it was built. So that’s where my hard-earned pennies are going. I hope.

  5. Everybody gets into the party catered by Yvon Cournoyer and the McGill Cheerleaders. Wow, is it gonna be fun! That is, of course, if I own the Canadiens.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *